Tags

, , , ,

The Pha That Luang Buddhist Temple in Vientiane, Laos

The Pha That Luang Buddhist Temple in Vientiane, Laos

I just finished translating my first Wikipedia article. This forms the next step in the process of learning the Indonesian language, Bahasa Indonesia. I’m proficient in reading articles in magazines like Jalan Jalan, Eksekutif and Tempo but writing and speaking is a different story all together.

So now I’ve taken up this translation task to substitute for the lack of native Indonesian speakers in my surroundings. The process of looking up words, getting the grammar right and validating sentence structures is time consuming but a very important part of becoming fluent in any language.

Next year I’m planning on taking four or five weeks of unpaid leave to spend some time in Indonesia. This is the next step in the process. Hopefully I can make myself useful by teaching English to children in a primary school. The place I have in mind at the moment is the island of Flores because I have never visited the Nusa Tenggara region of Indonesia.

The Indonesian Wikipedia is very much in need of new articles. Hopefully I can contribute to create a more rich Wikipedia.

I picked my first article from the main page of the English Wikipedia. It was a subject that interested me and the article was conveniently short. The article is about the Pha That Luang Buddhist temple in Vientiane, Laos. The temple roof is covered with gold and has been reconstructed several times since it was built in the third century.

I’ve never been to Laos but it is in the top of my list of places to visit.

One interesting fact in this article is that the temple was visited by a Dutchman in 1641. I never knew that the Dutch East India Company reached all the way into Laos around that period.

You can find the translated article here. If you’re an Indonesian speaker and you spot an error (which no doubt there will be) then please give me a shout and I’ll change the article for the better.

